top of page

ALTERNATIVE ENERGY SOURCES

The Battery-Electric Flight

The technology for electric drives has been largely optimized and exhausted. Electric motors have an efficiency of up to 97%, that of inverters/controllers is almost 99%. Power connections and battery management systems are also optimized. The sticking point of e-mobility is almost exclusively due to the lack of energy density of batteries.

iStock-538686845.jpg

The media is reporting about energy densities of 400 Wh/kg and more. But where are the actually available energy densities in reality?

 

Here is an overview of the currently actually achieved battery energy densities at the system level. So not just the bare battery cell, but the actual amount of energy in relation to the total weight of the power supply unit. And only that counts!

Audi e-tron:            95kWh/700kg      136 Wh/kg
Ford Mustang E:     68kWh/485kg      140 Wh/kg
Audi e-tron GT:       93kWh/630kg      148 Wh/kg
Porsche Tycan:       93kWh/630kg      148 Wh/kg
Jaguar I-pace:        90kWh/599kg      150 Wh/kg
BYD Han EV:            85kWh/568kg      150 Wh/kg
Mercedes EQS:     108 kWh/692kg      156 Wh/kg
Tesla S:                  100kWh/625kg      160 Wh/kg
Tesla 3:                    75kWh/439kg      171 Wh/kg
Tesla Y:                    75kWh/437kg      172 Wh/kg
Rimac:                    120kWh/599kg     200 Wh/kg

The average brutto energy density is therefore 157 Wh/kg. And these energy densities are also given without the weight of cooling liquid, pipes, pumps, coolers, etc. The usable energy is normally approx. 5 - 10% less.
Taking all these factors into account, the average actual realized net energy densities that can actually be used for propulsion is below 150 Wh/kg.

The significantly higher requirements of aviation apply to aircraft batteries. In particular, crash safety and fire protection play a much greater role than with cars. Because in the event of a fire it is not possible to stop and exit the aircraft. This further reduces the actually available energy density.

For example the Pipistrel aviation battery: PB345V124E-L
A 10.35 kWh unit weighs 74 kg = 140 Wh/kg energy density. Even that is calculated without cables, hoses, coolant, pump, cooler, crash-proof housing, etc. More information can be found HERE.

Airplanes are about 10 times more weight sensitive than cars. Even if the battery-electric drive for road traffic is emerging as the future solution, this is much more difficult for the significantly weight-sensitive aircraft.

The following physical energy consideration is intended to show what performance is currently achievable for cruising with battery-powered aircraft.

Battery (2x Pipistrel PB345V124E-L)                    20kWh

Losses (motor, inverter, cable, ...)                        -10%

Available drive energy                                             18kWh

Acceleration of the aircraft and climb to

cruising altitude                                                    -1.2kWh

legal minimum reserve 30 min. (20 kW / 27 hp) - 10kWh

remaining energy for planned cruise flight         6.8kWh

What flight time can be achieved with 6.8 kWh of energy ?

                                                  standard         minimum

Assumed cruising power    70 hp (51,5kW)   41 hp (30kW)

legally plannable cruise time    8,2 min.           13,6 min.

This calculation does not take into account the power consumption for the avionics, electric landing flaps, retractable landing gear or even a cockpit heating!


It can therefore be assumed that purely battery-powered sport aircraft will remain largely restricted to operation near airports, at least for the next 25-30 years, unless a battery miracle occurs.

Range

Even efficient aircraft can hardly be sold with tanks of less than 70 liters. This achieves a minimum flight time of 4 hours and a range of at least 800 km with a power of around 70 hp (51.5 kW).


The vast majority of general aviation pilots see this as the absolute minimum requirement when purchasing an aircraft.

Range.JPG

Here's a look at the weight calculation:
 

As stated above, a cruising performance of 70 hp / 51.5 kW should be available over a period of 4 hours.

Assuming an energy density of 200 Wh/kg, a battery would weigh around 1.145 kg with today's most modern battery technology (51.5 kW / 90% efficiency x 4 hours = 229 kWh / 200 Wh/kg = 1145 kg).


For comparison:

A full 70-litre gasoline tank including the pump, hoses, etc. weighs around 58 kg, with which a light aircraft with a take-off weight of 600 kg can be operated for 4 hours with 70 hp!

(51.5 kW x 0.25 kg/kWh (specific consumption) x 4 hours / 0.73 (specific weight of gasoline) = 70 liters)


This results in the well-known weight factor of 1 : 20 (1145/58 kg)

This means that a battery system is around twenty times heavier than a fuel system in order to bring the same energy to the propeller. And that even with the best and new batteries currently available.

But as we know, every kilogram counts in aviation!


This clearly shows that there is a long way from replacing piston engines in airplanes with battery electric drives. Only a fraction of the demand can be met with batteries or hydrogen for the next 25-30 years or more.

So, we need a future-oriented technology for the next 30 years and probably longer - XAEROS is developing it!
Hydrogen as Energy Source

Hydrogen does not occur in nature in a directly usable form. Hydrogen has to be technically produced in order to make it usable. Hydrogen is always colorless, but several names have become common to distinguish it in terms of the manufacturing process.

The so-called green hydrogen is produced by electrolysis. Here, the so-called renewable energy is obtained from water, sun and wind power for the splitting of water (H2O) into hydrogen and oxygen. This process is only possible with an efficiency of around 80%. This means that 20% of the valuable renewable energy is already lost in the first step.

We will urgently need the valuable regenerative energies for battery electric vehicles in road traffic and many other applications for which electrical energy can hardly be replaced. The switch from gas heating to heat pumps and the energy transition in industry require additional enormous amounts of renewable energy. It can therefore not be assumed that in temperate climate zones so much solar and wind energy can ever be generated that green hydrogen can also be produced locally for mobility. 

iStock-1366998332.jpg
H2-Tanker.JPG

Hydrogen would therefore have to be produced for the most part in sunny and windy regions around the world. However, hydrogen is not so easy to transport across the oceans in large tankers. This requires tankers with very well insulated pressure vessels that can transport the hydrogen in liquefied form, i.e. cooled down to minus 253.

The latest and largest hydrogen tanker model was developed by Dutch energy company LH2 Europe. It will not be operational until 2027.

The 142 meter long liquid hydrogen tanker holds 37,500 m³. However, liquefied hydrogen is also very light at only 71 kg/m³, which means that this largest pressure tank tanker can only transport 2,660 tons of liquefied hydrogen. A proportion of around 15 - 20% of this is also lost through boil-off while driving.

This means that only around 2,260 tons of hydrogen arrive at the port of destination, which corresponds to energy of around 75 million kWh.

In comparison, a medium-sized oil tanker, which can also be used to transport eFuels, holds around 250,000 tons, which corresponds to an energy of 3 billion kWh. 

So, 40 hydrogen tankers can transport as much energy as one tanker for eFuels!

Conversion of hydrogen to ammonia to achieve higher energy density for transport is also being considered. However, around 45% of the energy is lost in the conversion process (Haber-Bosch). Another 10% of the energy is lost when converting ammonia back into hydrogen.

Although ammonia in liquid form is almost 10 times heavier than hydrogen, but ammonia has only 15% of the energy density of hydrogen. 

To transport the same amount of energy as with existing eFuel tankers, you therefore need 27 ammonia tankers, which would first have to be built.

In addition, oil, diesel and kerosene tankers are gradually becoming free as a result of the energy transition and can be used to transport eFuels. Hydrogen tankers do not currently exist and would have to be developed, produced and deployed from scratch. Huge investments would be required here.

Other manufacturing processes, such as so called "gray hydrogen", use natural gas, i.e. methane, as the basis. When converting methane into hydrogen, which is how most of the hydrogen produced today is produced, around 10 kg of CO2 are released per kg of hydrogen, which is why this is very questionable from an environmental point of view.

Hydrogen as an energy carrier is associated with difficult-to-solve challenges in General Aviation:

Infrastructure

  • the majority of general aviation aircraft are flown at small airports, very often in club operations. It is unlikely that airports and clubs would invest around €1 million per hydrogen filling station if they can buy 3-6 brand new aircraft for it. The question also arises as to whether investing in a hydrogen filling station will ever pay off.

Technology

  • enormous weight and extensive technology of the components (tanks, fuel cell, lines, technology, etc.)

  • large volume of hydrogen tanks

  • Converting existing aircraft is very difficult. This means that new aircraft for hydrogen propulsion would have to be developed, produced and purchased.

 

It can be assumed that it would therefore take decades before the switch to hydrogen-powered aircraft would have any impact on environmental protection, which urgently needs to be promoted.

Wasserstofftransport
Synthetic Fuels - eFuel/SAF (sustainable aviation fuel)
iStock-489484638.jpg

Synthetic fuels are made from CO2 from the air, water and solar or wind energy. Exactly as much CO2 is absorbed from the air during production as is later released again during combustion. Therefore, with synthetic fuels, so-called eFuels, a CO2-neutral operation of aircraft is possible.

The efficiency in the production of eFuels is lower than in the production of hydrogen, since hydrogen is the starting point for the production of eFuels. However, liquid fuels have the advantage that transport is much easier and cheaper than that of hydrogen and the infrastructure required for transport to refueling at the airport is already available. This means that the transport of eFuels over long distances is cost-effective and much more energy-efficient.

Synthetic fuels can therefore be produced where there is an abundance of regenerative energy, i.e. in sunny and windy regions around the world. With the same investment, installing a solar system in a desert region produces around three times the amount of green energy compared to systems in central Europe, for example. This more than compensates for the non-optimal efficiency in the production of eFuels. Transport ships can also be operated CO2-neutrally with eFuels.

CONCLUSION

Developing new aircraft for battery-electric or hydrogen-based propulsion would take many decades. It would take another decade before the new aircraft are actually in operation and the first noticeable effects in terms of CO2-reducing operation become apparent. Quite independently of this, the question arises as to whether the required ranges and requirements of aviation can ever be achieved with these technologies.

eFuels do not make sense where battery electric solutions are applicable. With eFuels, however, air and ship traffic can be converted to CO2-neutral operation in the foreseeable future. This is possible with the existing ship and aircraft fleets. The entire infrastructure network is also available for this. As a result, appropriate measures can be taken with regard to the urgently needed environmental protection in a much shorter period of time.

iStock-1063777306.jpg
FAZIT Energien
eFuels
bottom of page

top of page

ALTERNATIVE ENERGIETRÄGER

Der batterieelektrische Flug

Die Technik bei Elektroantrieben ist weitgehend optimiert und ausgereizt. Elektromotoren haben einen Wirkungsgrad von bis zu 97 %, der von Invertern/Controllern liegt bei nahezu 99%. Stromverbindungen und Batteriemanagement-Systeme sind ebenfalls optimiert. Der Knackpunkt der Elektromobilität liegt fast ausschließlich an der mangelnden Energiedichte von Batterien/Akkus.

iStock-538686845.jpg

In den Medien wird von Energiedichten von 400 Wh/kg und mehr gesprochen. Aber wo liegen die tatsächlich nutzbaren Energiedichten denn in der Realität? 

 

Hier ein Überblick über die derzeit tatsächlich erreichten Batterie-Energiedichten auf Systemebene. Also nicht nur die nackte Batteriezelle, sondern die tatsächliche Energiemenge bezogen auf das Gesamtgewicht der Stromversorgungseinheit. Und nur das zählt !

Audi e-tron:            95kWh/700kg      136 Wh/kg
Ford Mustang E:     68kWh/485kg      140 Wh/kg
Audi e-tron GT:       93kWh/630kg      148 Wh/kg
Porsche Tycan:       93kWh/630kg      148 Wh/kg
Jaguar I-pace:        90kWh/599kg      150 Wh/kg
BYD Han EV:            85kWh/568kg      150 Wh/kg
Mercedes EQS:     108 kWh/692kg      156 Wh/kg
Tesla S:                  100kWh/625kg      160 Wh/kg
Tesla 3:                    75kWh/439kg      171 Wh/kg
Tesla Y:                    75kWh/437kg      172 Wh/kg
Rimac:                    120kWh/599kg     200 Wh/kg

Die durchschnittliche brutto Energiedichte liegt demnach bei 157 Wh/kg. Und auch diese Energiedichten werden ohne das Gewicht von Kühlflüssigkeit, Rohren, Pumpen, Kühlern usw. angegeben. Die nutzbare Energie ist normalerweise ca. 5 - 10 % geringer.
Unter Berücksichtigung all dieser Faktoren liegt der Durchschnitt der tatsächlich realisierten Nettoenergiedichten, die wirklich für den Antrieb genutzt werden können, bei unter 150 Wh/kg.

Für Flugzeugbatterien gelten die deutlich höheren Anforderungen der Luftfahrt. Dabei spielen insbesondere die Crashsicherheit und der Feuerschutz eine wesentlich größere Rolle als bei Autos, denn im Brandfall ist ein Anhalten und Verlassen des Flugzeugs nicht möglich. Dadurch wird die tatsächlich verfügbare Energiedichte weiter reduziert.

 

Zum Beispiel die Pipistrel-Luftfahrtbatterie: PB345V124E-L
Eine Einheit mit 10,35 kWh wiegt 74 kg = 140 Wh/kg Energiedichte. Selbst das ist ohne Kabel, Schläuche, Kühlflüssigkeit, Pumpe, Kühler, crashfestes Gehäuse etc. berechnet. Weitere Informationen sind HIER zu finden.

Flugzeuge sind rund um den Faktor 10 gewichtssensibler als Autos. Auch wenn sich der batterieelektrische Antrieb für den Straßenverkehr als die zukünftige Lösung abzeichnet, so ist dies für die wesentlich gewichtssensiblen Flugzeuge ungleich schwieriger.

Die nachfolgende physikalische Energiebetrachtung soll zeigen, welche Leistungen für den Reiseflug mit batteriebetriebenen Flugzeugen derzeit erreichbar sind.

Batterie (2x Pipistrel PB345V124E-L)                   20 kWh

Verluste (Motor, Inverter, Kabel, ...)                       -10%

Zur Verfügung stehende Antriebsenergie            18 kWh

Energie für die Beschleunigung bis zum

         Erreichen der Reiseflughöhe                     -1,2 kWh

gesetzl. Min-Reserve 30  Min. (20 kW / 27 PS)  - 10 kWh

verbleib. Energie für den geplanten Reiseflug  6,8 kWh

Welche Flugzeit ist mit 6,8 kWh an Energie legal erreichbar?

                                                   Standard       Minimum

angenomm. Reiseleistung    70PS/51,5kW   41PS/30kW

legal planbare Flugzeit           8,2 Min.       13,6 Minuten

Diese Berechnung berücksichtigt nicht den Stromverbrauch für die Avionik, elektrische Landeklappen, Einziehfahrwerke oder gar eine Cockpitheizung !


Es ist daher davon auszugehen, dass rein batteriebetriebene Sportflugzeuge zumindest für die nächsten 25-30 Jahre im Wesentlichen auf den Betrieb in Flughafennähe beschränkt bleiben werden, sofern nicht ein Batteriewunder geschieht.

Reichweite

Selbst effiziente Flugzeuge können mit Tanks von weniger als 70 Liter kaum verkauft werden. Damit wird eine Mindestflugzeit von 4 Stunden und eine Reichweite von mindestens 800 km bei einer Antriebsleistung von rund 70 PS (51,5 kW) erreicht.


Die überwiegende Mehrheit der Piloten der Allgemeinen Luftfahrt sieht dies als absolute Mindestanforderung beim Kauf eines Flugzeugs an.

Range.JPG

Hier ein Blick auf die Gewichtsberechnung:
Wie oben angeführt, soll eine Reiseflugleistung von 70 PS / 51,5 kW über eine Zeit von 4 Stunden zur Verfügung stehen.

Geht man von einer Energiedichte von 200 Wh/kg aus, so würde diese Batterie mit der heute modernsten Batterietechnologie  rund 1,145 kg wiegen (51,5 kW / 90 % Wirkungsgrad x 4 Stunden = 229 kWh / 200 Wh/kg = 1145 kg).


Zum Vergleich: Ein gefüllter 70-Liter-Benzintank wiegt inklusive Pumpe, Schläuchen usw. rund 58 kg, mit dem ein Leichtflugzeug mit einem Abfluggewicht von maximal 600 kg über 4 Stunden mit 70 PS betrieben werden kann!

(51,5 kW x 0,25 kg/kWh (spezifischer Verbrauch) x 4 Stunden / 0,73 (spez. Gewicht von Benzin) = 70 Liter)


Daraus ergibt sich der bekannte Gewichtsfaktor von 1 : 20 (1145/58 kg)

Dass heißt, um die gleiche Energie auf den Propeller zu bringen, ist ein Batteriesystem rund zwanzigmal schwerer als ein Kraftstoffsystem. Und das selbst mit den besten derzeit erhältlichen Batterien.

Wie wir wissen, zählt aber in der Luftfahrt jedes Kilogramm !


Dies zeigt deutlich, dass wir weit davon entfernt sind, Kolbenmotoren bei Flugzeugen durch Elektromotoren zu ersetzen. Nur ein Bruchteil des Bedarfs kann mit Batterien oder Wasserstoff für die nächsten 25-30 Jahre oder länger erreicht werden.

Wir brauchen also eine Brückentechnologie für die nächsten 30 Jahre und wahrscheinlich noch länger – XAEROS entwickelt sie!
Wasserstoff als Energieträger

Wasserstoff kommt in der Natur nicht in direkt verwendbarer Form vor. Wasserstoff muss technisch erzeugt werden, um ihn nutzbar zu machen. Wasserstoff ist immer farblos, allerdings haben sich mehrere Bezeichnungen eingebürgert, um ihn hinsichtlich der Herstellverfahren zu unterscheiden.

Der sogenannte grüne Wasserstoff wird mittels Elektrolyse hergestellt. Hierbei wird die sogenannte erneuerbare Energie aus Wasser-, Sonnen- und Windkraft für die Aufspaltung von Wasser (H2O) in Wasserstoff und Sauerstoff gewonnen. Dieses Verfahren ist mit einem Wirkungsgrad von nur rund 80 % möglich. D.h. 20 % der wertvollen erneuerbaren Energie geht bereits im ersten Schritt verloren.

Wir werden die wertvollen regenerativen Energien dringend für die batterieelektrischen Fahrzeuge im Straßenverkehr sowie vielen anderen Anwendungen benötigen, für die die elektrische Energie kaum zu ersetzen ist. Der Umstieg von Gas-Heizungen auf Wärmepumpen sowie die Energiewende in der Industrie benötigen zusätzlich enorme Mengen an regenerativer Energie. Es kann daher nicht davon ausgegangen werden, dass in gemäßigten Klimazonen jemals so viel Sonnen- und Windenergie gewonnen kann, dass man vor Ort auch noch grünen Wasserstoff für die Mobilität produzieren kann. 

iStock-1366998332.jpg
H2-Tanker.JPG

Wasserstoff müsste demnach zum allergrößten Teil in sonnen- und windreichen Regionen auf der ganzen Welt hergestellt werden. Allerdings ist Wasserstoff nicht so einfach mittels großen Tankschiffen über die Ozeane transportierbar. Hierfür sind Tanker mit sehr gut isolierten Druckbehältern erforderlich, die den Wasserstoff in verflüssigter Form, also auf minus 253 heruntergekühlt, transportieren können.

Das jüngste und größte Modell eines Wasserstoff-Tankers wurde vom niederländischen Energieunternehmen LH2 Europe entwickelt. Es wird erst 2027 in Betrieb gehen. Der 142 Meter lange Flüssigwasserstoff-Tanker fasst 37.500 m³. Allerdings ist auch verflüssigter Wasserstoff mit nur 71 kg/m³ sehr leicht, wodurch dieser größte Drucktank-Tanker nur 2.660 Tonnen an verflüssigtem Wasserstoff transportieren kann. Auch davon geht ein Anteil von rund 15 - 20% durch Boil-off während der Fahrt verloren.

Somit kommen nur rund 2.260 Tonnen Wasserstoff am Zielhafen an, was einer Energie von rund 75 Millionen kWh entspricht.

Im Vergleich dazu fasst ein mittlerer Öltanker, mit dem auch eFuels transportiert werden können, rund 250.000 Tonnen, was einer Energie von 3 Mrd. kWh entspricht. 

40 Wasserstofftanker können also gleich viel Energie transportieren, wie ein Tanker für eFuels !

Überlegungen werden auch bezüglich der Umwandlung von Wasserstoff zu Ammoniak angestellt, um eine höhere Energiedichte für den Transport zu erreichen. Allerdings gehen in diesem Verfahren (Haber-Bosch) rund 45% der Energie verloren. Bei der Rückumwandlung von Ammoniak zu Wasserstoff gehen nochmals 10% der Energie verloren.

Ammoniak ist in flüssiger Form zwar fast 10 Mal schwerer wie Wasserstoff, allerdings hat Ammoniak nur 15% der Energiedichte von Wasserstoff. 

Um die gleiche Menge an Energie wie mit bestehenden eFuel-Tankern zu transportieren, benötigt man deshalb 27 Ammoniak-Tanker, die erst gebaut werden müssten.

Hinzu kommt, dass Öl-, Diesel- und Kerosintanker durch die Energiewende nach und nach frei werden und für den Transport von eFuels eingesetzt werden können. Wasserstoff-Tanker gibt es zurzeit nicht und müssten von Grund auf neu entwickelt, produziert und in den Einsatz gebracht werden. Hier für würden riesige Investitionen erforderlich werden.

Andere Herstellungsverfahren, wie z.B. grauer Wasserstoff verwenden Erdgas, also Methan als Basis. Bei der Umwandlung von Methan in Wasserstoff, so wie der größte Teil des heute hergestellten Wasserstoffs produziert wird, werden pro kg Wasserstoff rund 10 kg CO2 frei, weshalb dies umweltschutztechnisch sehr bedenklich ist.

Wasserstoff als Energieträger ist mit schwierig zu lösenden Herausforderungen in der Allgemeinen Luftfahrt verbunden:

Infrastruktur

  • der größte Teil an Flugzeugen der Allgemeinen Luftfahrt wird an kleinen Flugplätzen, sehr oft im Vereinsbetrieb, geflogen. Es ist unwahrscheinlich, dass Flugplätze und Vereine ca. 1 Mio.€ pro Wasserstofftankstelle investieren würden, wenn sie dafür 3 - 6 nagelneue Flugzeuge anschaffen können. Zudem stellt sich die Frage, ob sich die Investition in eine Wasserstofftankstelle jemals rechnet.

Technik

  • enormes Gewicht und umfangreiche Technik der Komponenten (Tanks, Brennstoffzelle, Leitungen, Technik, usw.)

  • großes Volumen der Wasserstofftanks

  • Ein Umbau von bestehenden Flugzeugen gestaltet sich sehr schwierig. D.h. es müssten neue Flugzeuge für den Wasserstoffantrieb entwickelt, produziert und angeschafft werden.

 

Es ist davon auszugehen, dass es daher Jahrzehnte dauern würde, bis vom Umstieg auf wasserstoffbetriebene Flugzeuge hinsichtlich dem dringend voranzutreibenden Umweltschutz etwas zu spüren wäre.

Wasserstofftransport
Synthetische Kraftstoffe - eFuels/SAF (sustainable aviation fuel)
iStock-489484638.jpg

Synthetische Kraftstoffe werden aus CO2 aus der Luft, Wasser und Sonnen- oder Windenergie hergestellt. Dabei wird bei der Produktion exakt so viel CO2 aus der Luft aufgenommen, wie später bei der Verbrennung wieder freigesetzt wird. Daher ist mit synthetischen Kraftstoffen, sogenannten eFuels, ein CO2-neutraler Betrieb von Flugzeugen möglich.

Der Wirkungsgrad bei der Herstellung von eFuels ist geringer als bei der Herstellung von Wasserstoff, da der Wasserstoff die Ausgangsbasis für die Herstellung von eFuels ist. Allerdings haben Flüssig-Kraftstoffe den Vorteil, dass der Transport wesentlich einfacher und günstiger als der von Wasserstoff ist und die dafür erforderliche Infrastruktur für den Transport bis zur Betankung am Flughafen bereits vorhanden ist. Somit ist der Transport von eFuels über große Strecken kostengünstig und wesentlich energiesparender möglich.

Synthetische Kraftstoffe können daher dort hergestellt werden, wo regenerative Energie im Überfluss vorhanden ist, also in sonnen- und windreichen Regionen auf der ganzen Welt. Die Installation einer Solaranlage in Wüstengegenden produziert bei gleichem Investment die rund dreifache Menge an grüner Energie im Vergleich zu Anlagen z.B. in Mitteleuropa. Dies gleicht den nicht optimalen Wirkungsgrad bei der Herstellung von eFuels mehr als aus. Auch Transportschiffe können mit eFuels CO2-neutral betrieben werden.

FAZIT

Die Entwicklung neuer Flugzeuge für batterieelektrische oder wasserstoffbasierte Antriebe würde viele Jahrzehnte in Anspruch nehmen. Bis dann die neuen Flugzeuge tatsächlich in Betrieb sind und erste spürbare Effekte hinsichtlich eines CO2-mindernden Betriebs erkennbar wären, würde es nochmals Jahrzehnte brauchen. Ganz unabhängig davon betrachtet stellt sich die Frage, ob mit diesen Technologien jemals die geforderten Reichweiten und Anforderungen der Luftfahrt erreicht werden können.

eFuels machen keinen Sinn, wo batterieelektrische Lösungen anwendbar sind. Mit eFuels kann aber der Flug- und Schiffsverkehr in absehbarer Zeit auf einen CO2-neutralen Betrieb umgestellt werden. Dies ist mit den bestehenden Schiffs- und Flugzeugflotten möglich. Auch das gesamte Infrastrukturnetz ist hierfür vorhanden. Dadurch lassen sich in einer wesentlich kürzeren Zeitspanne entsprechende Maßnahmen hinsichtlich des dringend erforderlichen Umweltschutzes setzen.

iStock-1063777306.jpg
FAZIT Energien
eFuels
bottom of page